Senate confirms Service Chiefs



      Major General Yusuf Buratai,(Chief of Army Staff)
The Senate has confirmed Major Gen. Abayomi Gabriel Olonisakin as the Chief of Defence Staff as well as Major General Tukur Yusuf Buratai (Chief of Army Staff); Rear Admiral Ibok-Ete Ekwe Ibas (Chief of Naval Staff); and Air Vice Marshal Sadiq Baba Abubakar (Chief of Air Staff).

The military chiefs who were earlier appointed by President Muhammadu Buhari on July 13, were grilled in a closed session on Tuesday with the lawmakers for over four hours.

President of the Senate, Dr. Bukola Saraki shortly before announcing the officers confirmation,said the officers answered questions on various issues, after which they were cleared for confirmation.

“Having successfully completed the screening and confirmation of the nominees, it is clear that their appointments were based on merit,” Saraki said.

He added that the appointments came at a very crucial time, especially at a time the country was still battling with insurgency in the Northeast, appealing to them to work hard to ensure the insurgents are routed in record time.

Assuring that the Senate would always give the Armed Forces every necessary support, Saraki charged them to also tackle corruption in military procurement process by restoring the battered image and prestige of the Armed Forces.

Facebook Comments

G+ Comments

Disqus Comments